Laura Stack Visits NSA/Ohio, NSA/Pittsburgh and NSA/Kentucky

From president Laura Stack

September 17 and 18, 2011 was a triple crown NSA weekend!  I had the pleasure of visiting three chapters in two days—Pittsburgh, OH, and KY!  Because the chapters were so close together, it didn’t make sense to fly, so I asked my husband to come along and drive me.  We had a blast and thank all our wonderful NSA members for making us feel so welcome!  John’s father is from the Pittsburgh area, so we even had a chance to visit family and even attend the Oktoberfest at Pitt Brewery.  We also visited Mount Washington, where John proposed to me in 1998, so it was very special.  The following morning, President Karen Litzinger of the Pittsburgh chapter hosted a past presidents’ breakfast before the meeting, and I was delighted with the great turnout with 8 past presidents (see photos).  The breakfast was followed by my program on Cool Productivity Tools: Using Technology to Stay Organized, Efficient, and Connected with a really nice turnout around 35 folks.

Then we drove from Pittsburgh to Columbus, OH.  My pal Mark Sanborn, CSP, CPAE was also presenting for the chapter the following day, so he was in town (he attended OSU and was very familiar with the area).  I ate my first White Castle hamburger.  Enough said.   Then president Tammy Moore hosted another past presidents’ breakfast (it’s a great running theme for the first kick-off meeting of the year) at the Max & Erma’s restaurant across the street from the meeting.  Twelve past presidents showed up!  I did the same program again for the chapter meeting with about 65 in attendance—fantastic!

We couldn’t stay for lunch, since we had to immediately hit the road and drive to Louisville, KY, for a program that same evening!  John dropped me off at the hotel and continued to Lexington, KY, where his sister lives (big family weekend for him).  President Mary Claire O’Neal hosted a nice dinner meeting with about 18 attendees.  I presented a new program called, “Mastering the World of Professional Relationships in the Speaking Business.”  Afterward, I stayed at the beautiful home of Elizabeth Jeffries and Stephen Tweed.  I loved reading the guest book of the many other past presidents and speakers who had stayed there.  Stephen, whom John and I call “dad,” since we’re the same age as his son, drove me to the airport, so the weekend was topped off with a big hug goodbye.

What struck me the most?  The spirit of NSA is alive and well!  I was delighted to see members openly sharing success strategies with others, and as always, giving lots of love and hugs.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

